Planning and Building in Michiana Shores

Section (1)  ADVISORY PLAN COMMISSION

            i. The Michiana Shores Planning Commission is governed by the Advisory Planning Statutes of the Indiana Local Planning and Zoning Chapter of Title 36 of the Indiana Code. As such, Michiana Shores has a seven member Plan Commission and a Board of Zoning Appeals. ("BZA"). Presently, the Town's Plan Commission has oversight and review responsibilities of all building permit applications "for new construction, additions to existing constructions or remodeling" pursuant to Town Code provisions at 1-1-2-5(I)."

            ii. Comprehensive Plan of the Town of Michiana Shores

               -THE COMPREHENSIVE PLAN

            iii. List of Plan Commission members:

                 Howard Jablon, President: howard@townofmichianashores.org

                 Matt Bowen, V-P: matt@townofmichianashores.org

                 Ray Dumbrys: ray@townofmichianashores.org

                 Ralph Box: ralph@townofmichianashores.org

                 Pam Dubie: pam@townofmichianashores.org

                 Mike Lancioni: mike@townofmichianashores.org

                 Michael Martinez: michael@townofmichianashores.org

                 Daina Dumbrys, Secretary: daina@townofmichianashores.org

            iv. Plan Commission Meeting Minutes

 

Section (2) The Board of Zoning Appeals or BZA

            i. The BZA has a five member board with appeals jurisdiction; the power to determine all special exceptions, special uses, contingent uses, and conditional uses; variances  of use and variances from development standards. The BZA may create "special orders" on a case by case basis and has existing Rules of Practice and Proceeding.

               

            ii. BZA Rules of Practice and Procedure

                -THE RULES OF PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE

            iii. List of BZA members

                 Matt Bowen, President: matt@townofmichianashores.org

                 Ray Dumbrys, V.P: ray@townofmichianashores.org

                 Mario Jobbe: mario@townofmichianashores.org

                 Robert Hall: robert@townofmichianashores.org

                 Jeanne Paxton: jeanne@townofmichianashores.org  (Acting Secretary)

 

NOTICES PUBLISHED FOR BZA PETITON HEARINGS

BZA MEETING AUGUST 6, 2020 7:00 PM

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARINGS Nos 001, 002, 003 8-6-2020.docx

 

             

                 

 

Section (3) Building Commissioner of the Town of Michiana Shores

            i. Name and contact information: Steve Thomas  (219)898-0393

                                                                 steve@townofmichianashores.org

            ii. Town Code Building Ordinances

 

iii. Michiana Shores Revised Buildinfg Permit (2).pdf

© Copyright 2020, Town of Michiana Shores. All rights reserved. Contact Daina for the latest information. Privacy Notice, Terms of Use and Disclaimers